Homo Deus : A Brief History of Tomorrow by 
Evolutionary Games in Natural, Social, and Virtual Worlds by
Over the last 25 years, evolutionary game theory has grown with theoretical contributions from the disciplines of mathematics, economics, computer science and biology. It is now ripe for applications. In this book, Daniel Friedman---an economist trained in mathematics---and Barry Sinervo---a biologist trained in mathematics---offer the first unified account of evolutionary game theory aimed at applied researchers. They show how to use a single set of tools to build useful models for three different worlds: the natural world studied by biologists; the social world studied by anthropologists, economists, political scientists and others; and the virtual world built by computer scientists and engineers. The first six chapters offer an accessible introduction to core concepts of evolutionary game theory. These include fitness, replicator dynamics, sexual dynamics, memes and genes, single and multiple population games, Nash equilibrium and evolutionarily stable states, noisy best response and other adaptive processes, the Price equation, and cellular automata. The material connects evolutionary game theory with classic population genetic models, and also with classical game theory. Notably, these chapters also show how to estimate payoff and choice parameters from the data. The last eight chapters present exemplary game theory applications. These include a new coevolutionary predator-prey learning model extending rock-paper-scissors; models that use human subject laboratory data to estimate learning dynamics; new approaches to plastic strategies and life cycle strategies, including estimates for male elephant seals; a comparison of machine learning techniques for preserving diversity to those seen in the natural world; analyses of congestion in traffic networks (either internet or highways) and the "price of anarchy"; environmental and trade policy analysis based on evolutionary games; the evolution of cooperation; and speciation. As an aid for instruction, a web site provides downloadable computational tools written in the R programming language, Matlab, Mathematica and Excel.
Platform Business Models by
This book introduces platform firms as unique business models. Leveraging on the early literature on network economics and strategy frameworks, this book explores how platform business firms evolve in the modern business world. Taking a strategic perspective, this book engages the reader with core concepts, case studies, and frameworks for analyzing platform business firms. This book differentiates platform business firms from traditional pipeline firms; explores engagement with different actors, value creation, and operations of platforms; elucidates resources and capabilities of platform firms that provide them sustained competitive advantage; analyzes performance levers in operating platform business models, including complementarities with other business models; and discusses the sustainability of platform business models, in the face of regulatory and societal challenges, among others. The book is designed as a primer for entrepreneurs setting up and operating platform business firms, senior managers in large corporations repurposing their resources to initiate network dynamics in their businesses, early career managers, and professionals engaging with myriad platform firms for their professional and personal needs. This book intends to provide a decision-maker with a portfolio of decisions to make to create, operate, sustain, and generate value out of a platform business firm. It is also useful for policy professionals to appreciate the economics and policy implications of regulating and governing platforms in a post-digital world.
Running Randomized Evaluations by
A comprehensive guide to running randomized impact evaluations of social programs in developing countries This book provides a comprehensive yet accessible guide to running randomized impact evaluations of social programs. Drawing on the experience of researchers at the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab, which has run hundreds of such evaluations in dozens of countries throughout the world, it offers practical insights on how to use this powerful technique, especially in resource-poor environments. This step-by-step guide explains why and when randomized evaluations are useful, in what situations they should be used, and how to prioritize different evaluation opportunities. It shows how to design and analyze studies that answer important questions while respecting the constraints of those working on and benefiting from the program being evaluated. The book gives concrete tips on issues such as improving the quality of a study despite tight budget constraints, and demonstrates how the results of randomized impact evaluations can inform policy. With its self-contained modules, this one-of-a-kind guide is easy to navigate. It also includes invaluable references and a checklist of the common pitfalls to avoid. Provides the most up-to-date guide to running randomized evaluations of social programs, especially in developing countries Offers practical tips on how to complete high-quality studies in even the most challenging environments Self-contained modules allow for easy reference and flexible teaching and learning Comprehensive yet nontechnical
Handbook of Research Methods in Corporate Social Responsibility by
Corporate social responsibility now touches upon most aspects of the interaction between business and society. The approaches taken to research in this area are as varied as the topics that are researched; yet this is the first book to address the whole range of methods available. The Handbook identifies the methods available, evaluates their use and discusses the circumstances in which they might be appropriate. The design of a research project is an essential part of undertaking research, as is choosing appropriate methods for investigation and analysis. In addition, business and management research raises theoretical and practical problems that are not encountered in other fields. The chapters address this challenge over distinct parts. Part I on methodology planning is concerned with various aspects of planning the research project, including secondary data and ethics in the research process. Parts II and III outline quantitative and qualitative methods respectively, covering the vast majority of relevant approaches. Part IV provides forward-thinking guidance from experienced academics on the future directions of research in the area. Aimed specifically at researchers, this comprehensive and in-depth Handbook provides and essential resource for anyone working at the forefront of CSR research. Contributors include:K. Abadi, G.K. Amoako, A. Behl, S. Bhattacharya, C. Boachie, N. Capaldi, J.G. Clavel, J. Claydon, D. Crowther, F. de Paiva Duarte, M. Green, J. Gunawan, M.A. Islam, R. Kalinauskaite, H.Z. Khan, Md.R. Khan, L.M. Lauesen, S. Moggi, E. Ortiz, I. Oruc, D.E.R. Ospina, J.F.M. Ospina, L. Raimi, J.D. Rendtorff, F. Robertson, M. Samy, S. Seifi, H. Semeen, M. Sethi, H.J. Shaw, J.J.A. Shaw, L. Tauginiene, D. Turker, V.G. Venkatesh, K. Yekini, V. Zydziunaite
Economics, Management and Sustainability by
This book presents an eclectic mix of interesting new areas in the domain of economics, management and sustainability. Written by leading experts, it provides valuable food for thought, with essays introducing new lines of research and empirical research papers offering sound research methodology. The book not only provides answers, but also raises numerous interesting questions concerning the areas covered to whet readers' appetites to learn more. Professor Anup Sinha is a respected teacher and is a great mind with wide-ranging academic interests spanning from economics and sustainability to management. As well as in various other places in India and the US, he has taught at the Indian Institute of Management Calcutta and Presidency College (now a University) Calcutta for almost three decades. To commemorate his contributions, this festschrift presents a collection of essays that are broadly subdivided into four sections: Economic Development; Vulnerabilities and Inclusive Growth; Sustainability and Corporate Governance; and Innovation and Management.
Applied Probabilistic Calculus for Financial Engineering by
Illustrates how R may be used successfully to solve problems in quantitative finance Applied Probabilistic Calculus for Financial Engineering: An Introduction Using R provides R recipes for asset allocation and portfolio optimization problems. It begins by introducing all the necessary probabilistic and statistical foundations, before moving on to topics related to asset allocation and portfolio optimization with R codes illustrated for various examples. This clear and concise book covers financial engineering, using R in data analysis, and univariate, bivariate, and multivariate data analysis. It examines probabilistic calculus for modeling financial engineering--walking the reader through building an effective financial model from the Geometric Brownian Motion (GBM) Model via probabilistic calculus, while also covering Ito Calculus. Classical mathematical models in financial engineering and modern portfolio theory are discussed--along with the Two Mutual Fund Theorem and The Sharpe Ratio. The book also looks at R as a calculator and using R in data analysis in financial engineering. Additionally, it covers asset allocation using R, financial risk modeling and portfolio optimization using R, global and local optimal values, locating functional maxima and minima, and portfolio optimization by performance analytics in CRAN. Covers optimization methodologies in probabilistic calculus for financial engineering Answers the question: What does a "Random Walk" Financial Theory look like? Covers the GBM Model and the Random Walk Model Examines modern theories of portfolio optimization, including The Markowitz Model of Modern Portfolio Theory (MPT), The Black-Litterman Model, and The Black-Scholes Option Pricing Model Applied Probabilistic Calculus for Financial Engineering: An Introduction Using R s an ideal reference for professionals and students in economics, econometrics, and finance, as well as for financial investment quants and financial engineers.
Managerial Economics: Principles and worldwide applications by 
Strategic management of informations systems by 
Blockchain applications: a hands-on approach by 
Macroeconomics by
Research in macroeconomics in the last thirty years has featured, almost exclusively on two characteristics: an emphasis on the microfoundations of macroeconomics and secondly, intertemporal economics, that is, the behavior of economic actors over time. Curiously, textbooks in intermediate macroeconomics have been very slow to adopt these traits. The aim of this book is to bring intermediate instruction in macroeconomics fully into line with the direction taken by the research community. Key hallmarks of the text include: a full introduction to the microfoundations of consumption and investment a complete model of the labor market with profit maximization for firms to determine labor demand and a utility maximization model to determine labor supply an analysis of the Baumol-Tobin model to determine money demand accompanied by a discussion of traditional money supply Possessing a full range of additional learning features including a companion website, test bank and instructor's manual, the book takes an international view of macroeconomics with case studies and examples from the United States and beyond.
Managerial Economics and Business Strategy by 
Entrepreneurial Financial Management by
This fifth edition of a classic and comprehensive resource presents an applied, realistic view of entrepreneurial finance for today's entrepreneurs, completely updated to address the latest trends and technologies. The book provides an integrated set of concepts and applications, drawing from entrepreneurship, finance and accounting, that will prepare aspiring entrepreneurs for the world they will most likely face as they start their new businesses. The contents are designed to follow the life cycle of a new business venture. Topics are presented in logical order, as entrepreneurs will likely face them as they begin the process of business start-up and move into growing the business. Both undergraduate and graduate students will appreciate the clear presentation of complex issues, and this book is an essential resource for budding entrepreneurs as well. A comprehensive spreadsheet financial template is included with the book, and an all-new case study provides questions that will help students learn the template as they proceed through the book. This tool allows for the application of many of the concepts to actual businesses and can be a valuable supplement to the process of developing a full business plan. The spreadsheet financial template is available for unlimited free downloads at Professor Cornwall's blog site: www.drjeffcornwall.com.
A Research Agenda for Social Entrepreneurship by
Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in a given area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. In the last two decades social entrepreneurship has grown in energy and impact as entrepreneurial spirit has increasingly turned to finding solutions for social, cultural and environmental issues. As social entrepreneurship has grown in popularity, so too has its academic study. A Research Agenda for Social Entrepreneurshipbrings together contributions from developing paths in the field to signpost the directions ahead for the study of social entrepreneurship. Moving beyond mainstream approaches to entrepreneurship, this innovative and insightful book offers a unique view into the contemporary state of social entrepreneurship research. Impressive and diverse, this book explores not only established research, but also draws out implications for social entrepreneurship from legal scholarship, gender studies and indigenous research, as well as investigating regional contexts. Moreover, the contributors take inspiration from emerging societal trends, such as the circular economy and the turn of entrepreneurship to ecology and the environment. Featuring diverse insights from different disciplinary and geographical perspectives, this book is invaluable to students of social entrepreneurship at all levels who are in need of a broad and cutting-edge overview of the topics. Researchers seeking original research topics and questions will benefit from this book's insight into the future of the subject. The accessible style will also serve social entrepreneurs themselves, offering a fascinating exploration of the many pathways for social entrepreneurship. Contributors: G. Alarifi, A. Brady, D. Burand, E. Castellas, L.-P. Dana, A. de Bruin, P. Dey, B. Doherty, M. Duniam, A.M. Eikenberry, R. Eversole, H. Haugh, R. Hazenberg, M. Henriksson, C. Henry, E. Henry, D. Holt, M. Hultman, N. Johansson, A. Kaijser, P. Kittipanya-ngam, E. Kromidha, K.V. Lewis, L. Marti, C. Mason, B. Meldrum, J. Ormiston, P. Robson, M.J. Roy, R. Spear, S. Teasdale, B. Wallsten, R. Ziegler
Innovation and Entrepreneurship by 
Handbook of Research on Techno-Entrepreneurship, Third Edition by
While knowledge-intensive environments encourage and foster new ideas for products, services, production methods and business models, they also entail high levels of risk derived from the fast and dynamically changing nature of technology. This Handbook explores the new theoretical frameworks that are needed to cope with the growing relevance of techno-entrepreneurship initiatives globally. Demonstrating that techno-entrepreneurship and its ecosystems create opportunities across national borders, this Handbook also shows how they proactively shape their business environment and engage in more complex collaborative networks. Chapters cover emerging areas in the field, such as frugal innovation, the drone industry and gender-specific entrepreneurship. Separated into sections dedicated to entrepreneurial ecosystems - with original research into incubators, accelerators and crowd funding - and techno-entrepreneurship across countries, the contributors examine specific issues that arise in context. With international scope, this Handbook will be an essential read for entrepreneurship and innovation scholars. Any researcher with an interest in entrepreneurial ecosystems will also benefit from the original research presented.
The remains of the day: a novel by 
The Analysis of Time Series by
This new edition of this classic title, now in its seventh edition, presents a balanced and comprehensive introduction to the theory, implementation, and practice of time series analysis. The book covers a wide range of topics, including ARIMA models, forecasting methods, spectral analysis, linear systems, state-space models, the Kalman filters, nonlinear models, volatility models, and multivariate models. It also presents many examples and implementations of time series models and methods to reflect advances in the field. Highlights of the seventh edition: A new chapter on univariate volatility models A revised chapter on linear time series models A new section on multivariate volatility models A new section on regime switching models Many new worked examples, with R code integrated into the text The book can be used as a textbook for an undergraduate or a graduate level time series course in statistics. The book does not assume many prerequisites in probability and statistics, so it is also intended for students and data analysts in engineering, economics, and finance. witching models Many new worked examples, with R code integrated into the text The book can be used as a textbook for an undergraduate or a graduate level time series course in statistics. The book does not assume many prerequisites in probability and statistics, so it is also intended for students and data analysts in engineering, economics, and finance.
Currency Risk Management by
Currency Risk Management (CRM) is vital for any business engaging in international trade. Fluctuations and uncertainty within currency markets mean that businesses must seek to effectively manage and anticipate potential risks when striking international deals. In a rapidly changing and volatile global business environment, CRM is now more than ever of critical importance. However, what risks should businesses hedge - and how? With so many viable strategies for hedging currency exchange risk, it is crucial that businesses either outsource or have a specialized team to ensure effective and efficient management of currency exchange risks. But how does CRM operate in an emerging market? And what are the key factors that influence the chosen CRM strategies? Organized in association with Indian Bank, GITAM's national conference on CRM sought to highlight the trends, problems, and prospects of CRM in India. Taken from the conference proceedings, this book presents 9 innovative research papers that consider differing CRM practices. From a comparative study of India and China to an assessment of CRM strategies used by commercial Indian banks, this book offers an invaluable insight into CRM from the perspective of an emerging market. As a whole, this book addresses India's shift to a market-determined exchange rate regime and the inevitable problems caused the by the high volatility of exchange rates. Aimed at students enrolled in commerce and management courses, this collection of research papers will also be of interest to researchers in international finance.
The Wealth of (Some) Nations by
In this provocative new study, Zak Cope makes the case that capitalism is empirically inseparable from imperialism, historically and today. Using a rigorous political economic framework, he lays bare the vast ongoing transfer of wealth from the poorest to the richest countries through the mechanisms of monopoly rent, unequal exchange, and colonial tribute. The result is a polarized international class structure with a relatively rich Global North and an impoverished, exploited Global South. Cope makes the controversial claim that it is because of these conditions that workers in rich countries benefit from higher incomes and welfare systems with public health, education, pensions, and social security. As a result, the internationalism of populations in the Global North is weakened and transnational solidarity is compromised. The only way forward, Cope argues is through a renewed anti-imperialist politics rooted in a firm commitment to a radical labor internationalism.
Facets of India's Economy and Her Society Volume I by
'Jha is the right scholar and economist to take readers through the development of the Indian economy. Readers will be in good hands.' --Edmund Phelps, Columbia University, USA, and winner of the 2006 Nobel Prize in Economics 'This is perhaps the best and most scholarly contribution to understanding the Indian Economy and Society. Its rich historical perspective and a profound understanding of how India has evolved into a major economic power set standards of scholarship and analytical rigour that will be hard to surpass". --Raghav Gaiha, University of Manchester, UK 'Linking of economy and society is increasingly recognised as essential for addressing policy challenges by the current phase of globalisation. As such this study should be valuable not just for those studying India, but also for those interested in global developments.' --Mukul Asher, National University of Singapore, Singapore 'This book is a tour-de-force review of the fundamental topics on the Indian political economy and society that are relevant for any committed social scientist to be aware of.' --Sumit K. Majumdar, University of Texas at Dallas, USA This two-volume work provides an account of how India has been meeting its myriad of economic, political and social challenges and how things are expected to evolve in the future. Despite enormous challenges at the time of independence, India chose to address them within a secular, liberal, democratic framework, which guaranteed several fundamental rights. Challenges included intense mass poverty and hunger, very poor literacy and educational abilities of the population, the task of uniting a country with scores of languages and ethnicities ruled by different entities for decades and persistent threats of external aggression, to name just a few. Over time, incomes and opportunities have expanded enormously and India has regained her self-confidence as a nation. In this first volume, Jha presents a long view of the performance of the Indian economy and discusses key aspects of India's population, land and labor. In addition, the Indian Constitution and basic structure of governance are analysed within the context of major economic and political developments in independent India.
Growth and Distribution by
A major revision of an established textbook on the theory, measurement, and history of economic growth, with new material on climate change, corporate capitalism, and innovation. Authors Duncan Foley, Thomas Michl, and Daniele Tavani present Classical and Keynesian approaches to growth theory, in parallel with Neoclassical ones, and introduce students to advanced tools of intertemporal economic analysis through carefully developed treatments of land- and resource-limited growth. They cover corporate finance, the impact of government debt and social security systems, theories of endogenous technical change, and the implications of climate change. Without excessive formal complication, the models emphasize rigorous reasoning from basic economic principles and insights, and respond to students' interest in the history and policy dilemmas of real-world economies. In addition to carefully worked out examples showing how to use the analytical techniques presented, Growth and Distribution presents many problems suitable for inclusion in problem sets and examinations. Detailed answers to these problems are available. This second edition includes fresh data throughout and new chapters on climate change, corporate capitalism, models of wealth inequality, and technical change.
Ikigai: The japanese secret to a long and happy life by 
Inclusive Business Models: Transforming lives and creating livelihookds by 
Justice: What's the right thing to do? by 
The Tyranny of Merit: What's Become of the Common Good? by 
Matchmakers: The new economics of multisided platforms by 
